slidebg1

On the Request Notice to Evacuate Al-Rihaniya Shelter for Syrian Refugees

Saturday 19 11 2016
Shelter
Press Release
 
Following the news on the request notice to evacuate Al-Rihaniya Shelter Center for Syrian Refugees in the region of Bibneen, Akkar (North Lebanon), the Union of Relief and Development Associations in Lebanon (URDA), being the supervising authority for this shelter, would like to underscore the following:
 
First: Facts about Al-Rihaniya Shelter Center:
- The shelter site is located to the south-west of Bibneen town in Akkar, North Lebanon, in a rural agricultural area, at the borders of the town, and is approximately 5 kms away from the main road. The shelter is not adjacent to any official or military quarters, and is only surrounded by few residential buildings. Relations between the refugees residing in the shelter and their neighbors are highly friendly and excellent.
- Established in 2013, as a means to provide a temporary shelter for the Syrian refugees fleeing the violence and war crimes in their home country. This has been especially as the influx of refugees climaxed in 2013, and the capacity of Lebanese towns to host additional refugees was exhausted, while the refugees themselves had no source of funding to rent a shelter in Lebanon. The Rihaniya Shelter hosts currently 300 temporary tents, made of fabric, and thus the threat of transforming to a permanent residence is unfounded.
- The population of the shelter is estimated at around 1,000 refugees, 80% of whom are women and children. This population is among the highly vulnerable, and does not constitute any threat because even the population of adult males in the shelter is mainly elderly and individuals with chronic diseases. Moreover, the majority of the families in the Shelter do not have a working head, and there is a significant number of widows and orphans.
- It is established on a private land, rented by URDA. There is no dispute of any form (legal or non-legal) with any party in relation to the land.
- It is considered one of the most organized and orderly shelters in Lebanon, especially as it highly supports the basic humanitarian needs of the refugees. Hence it stands out from the majority of random shelters in different Lebanese regions.
- It is managed by Lebanese employees, mostly locals from the region, whose responsibility is to ensure safety and order inside the shelter. Additionally, the shelter is fenced from all directions, with one main gate that ensures prompt control over the movement into and out from the shelter.
- The Lebanese Security Forces are the sole responsible for the security of the Shelter, just like any other area in Lebanon. There are no obstacles or any other issues that restrict or limit the Lebanese Security Forces from pursuing their responsibilities and authority inside the shelter. We would like to add here that the Shelter management and URDA coordinate on a daily basis with all concerned Lebanese authorities and official institutions in relation to the daily management of the Shelter, and any upcoming or outstanding issues.
- All the refugees residing in the shelter have a clear and fixed address of residence that can be reached easily by the Lebanese Security Forces if needed. The Lebanese Security Forces have an updated complete list of names for all the residents in the shelter.
- Since its establishment, the Shelter never witnessed any security issue or conflict, or even dispute, including not with its neighbors or adjacent areas. None of the shelter’s residents has been ever convicted, noting that the Lebanese Security forces have interrogated all the men resident in the shelter after the explosions in Al-Qa’a town in Lebanon, with none of them being held for more than the interrogation period. 
Second: On the Request to Evacuate
- Neither URDA nor Al-Rihaniya Shelter Management, nor the residents of the shelter received an official request notice to evacuate the shelter within a specific notice period; but a security official came to the Shelter and informed the Shelter management orally that the Shelter should be evacuated.
- During the few days that followed this request, URDA Management tried to contact the different ministries and official authorities – including security authorities. Unfortunately, and until date, there is no clear answer as to why, how the request has been issued, and whether it is possible to work on a resolution or an alternate solution. 
Third: Humanitarian Consequences of Evacuation
- The evacuation request is highly alarming, as it will cause a humanitarian crisis for around 1,000 refugees, the majority of whom are children and women, especially as the winter approaches. The Shelter residents live below the poverty line, do not have fixed source of income, and cannot afford the cost of renting any other shelter outside. The situation is further exacerbated as the international and local aid organizations have limited their monetary support for the refugees.
- Securing a decent shelter for such a large number of refugees within the requested notice period is very hard to impossible, because establishing such a shelter costs lots of time, money and resources.
- The evacuation of the shelter without providing an alternate shelter will put the safety and security of these refugees at risk, especially the most vulnerable populations of children and women.
 
 
The Union of Relief and Development Associations in Lebanon
Beirut 19/11/2016

slidebg1

حول الإنذار بإخلاء ألف لاجئ سوري من مركز إيواء "الريحانية"

السبت ١٩ تشرين الثاني ٢٠١٦
الإيواء
بيان صحفي
 
بعد مرور أسبوع على ورود أنباء عن توجيه إنذار بالإخلاء إلى مركز "الريحانية" لإيواء اللاجئين السوريين في منطقة ببنين في عكّار شمال لبنان، يهم اتحاد الجمعيات الإغاثية والتنموية في لبنان، الجهة المشرفة على مركز الإيواء، أن يوضح ما يلي:
 
 أولاً: حقائق عن مركز إيواء "الريحانية":
- يقع في التخوم الجنوبية الغربية لبلدة ببنين في عكار شمال لبنان، وهو مقام في منطقة زراعية نائية على طرف القرية، تبعد عن الطريق الرئيسي حوالي 5 كلم، بعيداً عن أية منشآت رسمية مدنية أو عسكرية، ولا يوجد في محيطه سوى عدد قليل من المباني السكنية التي يتبادل قاطنوها مع اللاجئين في مركز الإيواء علاقات حسن الجوار.
- تم إنشاؤه في سنة 2013، بهدف توفير مأوىً مؤقت للاجئين السوريين الهاربين من ويلات الحرب في بلادهم، في ظل عدم قدرة البلدات اللبنانية على استيعاب التدفق الهائل للاجئين، وعدم امتلاك اللاجئين أنفسهم مورداً مالياً يمكّنهم من البقاء في مساكن مستأجرة. وهو يضم 300 خيمة مؤقتة مصنوعة من القماش، مما ينفي عنه أية مخاوف متعلقة بتحوله لحالة دائمة.
- يؤوي المركز حالياً نحو ألف لاجئ، يشكّل الأطفال والنساء حوالي 80% منهم، فيما يُشكّل المرضى وكبار السن نسبة كبيرة من الرجال المقيمين فيه. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن غالبية العائلات فاقدة للمعيل، وتضم عدداً كبيراً من الأرامل والأيتام. 
- مقام على أرض خاصة مستأجرة من قبل اتحاد الجمعيات الإغاثية والتنموية، ولا يوجد أي نزاع قانوني مع أي طرف فيما يتعلّق بإشغال العقار الموجود عليه.
- يُعد من أكثر مراكز الإيواء تنظيماً وانضباطاً، ويتميز بمراعاته للاحتياجات الإنسانية الأساسية للاجئين، وهو ما يميزه عن غالبية المخيمات العشوائية التي تتوزع في معظم المناطق اللبنانية.
- يُدار من قبل موظفين لبنانيين من أبناء المنطقة، من ضمنهم عدد من الموظفين الذين يوفرون الحماية والانضباط داخله، كما أنه محاط بسور من جميع الجهات، وله بوابة تضبط الخروج منه والدخول إليه.
- إن القوى الأمنية اللبنانية هي التي تضبط أمن المخيم كأية منطقة لبنانية، ولا يوجد أي مانع من شأنه إعاقة عمل القوى الأمنية داخله، علماً أن إدارة المخيم و"الإغاثية" تنسق بشكل يومي مع كافة المؤسسات الرسمية اللبنانية بما يتصل بأي من شؤون المخيم، ولا سيّما الشأن الأمني، كل ضمن اختصاصه.
- يمتلك كافة اللاجئين ضمن مركز الإيواء عنوان سكن واضح ومعروف، يمكن للأجهزة الأمنية الوصول إليه بسهولة مطلقة، علماً أن الأجهزة الأمنية تمتلك قوائم كاملة بأسماء سكان مركز الإيواء.
- لم يشهد منذ إنشائه أي إشكال أمني، سواء ضمن حدوده أو مع محيطه، كما لم يسبق توجيه أي تهمة أمنية لأي من قاطنيه. وتجدر الإشارة هنا إلى أن الجيش اللبناني سبق له التحقيق مع جميع الرجال القاطنين في المخيم إثر التفجيرات التي شهدتها بلدة القاع اللبنانية، وتم إخلاء سبيلهم جميعاً بعد تحقيق دام لعدة أيام.
 
 ثانياً: حول قرار الإخلاء:
- لم تتسلم إدارة اتحاد الجمعيات الإغاثية والتنموية، أو إدارة مركز الإيواء، أو القاطنون فيه، أي تبليغ خطي رسمي أو قانوني بضرورة إخلاء المخيم ضمن مهلة واضحة ومحددة؛ ولكن رجل أمن حضر إلى المكان وأبلغ إدارة المخيم إنذاراّ شفوياً بضرورة الإخلاء.
- تابعت إدارة "الإغاثية" على مدار الأسبوع الذي تلا الإنذار الشفوي اتصالاتها مع مختلف الوزارات والجهات الرسمية والأمنية المعنية، بهدف استيضاح خلفيات القرار ودوافعه وأسبابه، ومحاولة العمل على حل أية إشكالات أو ملاحظات قائمة، أو على الأقل البحث في البدائل الممكنة، إلا أن دوافع قرار الإخلاء ما تزال مجهولة حتى الآن، كما لم تُقدّم أي جهة رسمية لبنانية تصوّراً للبدائل التي يمكن تأمينها للاجئين.
 
 ثالثاً: التبعات الإنسانية لقرار الإخلاء:
- يُنذر قرار إخلاء مركز إيواء "الريحانية" بإلحاق كارثة إنسانية باللاجئين القاطنين فيه، وغالبيتهم من الأطفال والنساء، نظراً لعدم وجود أي مأوى بديل يمكن لهم الذهاب إليه، وخصوصاً مع حلول فصل الشتاء، وفي ظل الحالة المادية المتردية للاجئين، وعدم امتلاكهم لأي مورد رزق، وفي ظل توقف المؤسسات الدولية والمحلية المانحة عن تقديم مساعدات مالية للاجئين كبدل سكن يتيح لهم استئجار مساكن.
- إن تأمين مسكن لائق بديل لهذا العدد الكبير من اللاجئين ضمن المهلة المعلنة يُعد أمراً بالغ الصعوبة، حيث أن إقامة المخيم استغرقت قدراً كبيراً من الوقت والمال والجهد.
- إن من شأن تشريد اللاجئين دون تأمين بديل واضح لإيوائهم أن يعرّض أمنهم الفردي للخطر، كما أنه يزيد من فرص تعرّض الأطفال والنساء للاستغلال.
 
اتحاد الجمعيات الإغاثية والتنموية في لبنان
بيروت 19/11/2016